He didn’t ask for my number…

Was it my breath…

No I think it was something that I said… (shucks me and my big mouth)

Wait, but I didn’t even say much.

Okay so let me paint the picture for you…

There I was in the grocery store, picking up a few things when I was suddenly approached by a very good looking young man (he is the perfect 10, although he is not that tall). Of course, he hit me with a cheesy pick up line; ” were you in my tutor class last year” , “you from UJ right?”, but its fine his good looks made up for it. Anyway he helped me carry my basket and even suggested some cooking recipes that I could try out. Crazy me, I picked out some of the items he suggested (soooo expensive,damn!) and carried away talking about food. Finally I reached the till, paid for groceries (I thought he might offer to pay, *hides*)  and then walked to the door and of course he offered me a lift home. I got out the car and that was it, no “I hope to see you again soon” or “we should stay in touch or I would like to see you again”. All he said was the famous “it was nice to meet you” (Really!, then why didn’t you ask for my number).

So confusing….

But the point is, movies paint the perfect picture; you meet a guy, he asks for your number and then there is a happy ever after. So we tend to expect things to happen in that order in the reality but clearly it doesn’t always happen that way. In life there is no script, you kinda just go with flow and sometimes you don”t say the “right things” but that’s okay. Maybe it just wasn’t time…. (although I can’t help but wonder why).

Let me know if you have a experienced something similar… I am itching to hear your stories

5 thoughts on “He didn’t ask for my number…

  1. Pingback: He didn’t ask for my number… | theunpolishedcut

  2. Hayi, Aya, there is no script hey. Sometimes you get what you need at that time, not what your fleeting desires want. Human nature is curious and always wants to know, but I try not to don’t define myself by how others treat me. It was character building when a guy that I really liked and that I tought, liked me, didn’t ask me out for close to year. We were really close and it was frustrating, but now he is my man! If we had dated then, it probably wouldn’t have worked out well becuase I had baggage that I had to deal with.

    Maybe cupid exists and he shoots strategically. Not all “sweet” strangers have intentions..but they could in the future..

  3. Wow, Yami, thank you for those wise words. Maybe you right maybe he really didn’t have any intentions…But my point is that because movies paint the picture of how things are supposed to unfold, you kinda expect things to happen that way in real life…So it was a great lesson for me to know that it doesn’t and hopefully for many others too…

Leave a Reply

